Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


Hatters head to Fratton Park on August 4th with Sunderland first up at the Kenny!

21 June 2018

Sponsored by

The Hatters will kick-off their first Sky Bet League One campaign in a decade with a trip to Portsmouth on Saturday August 4th.

Pompey have been familiar faces in recent seasons, with the Hatters competing against them in League Two for their first three campaigns back in the EFL, before beating Kenny Jackett’s side in the FA Cup first round last term.

The south coast club went on to finish eighth in their first season back in the third tier and will represent a tough test for Nathan Jones and his newly-promoted team at Fratton Park after the EFL released the draft 2018-19 fixture schedule this morning.

The Welshman will relish the opening home match of the season the following Saturday, August 11th, with recently-relegated Sunderland the first visitors to Kenilworth Road.

The return fixture at the Stadium of Light is one that many fans are looking forward to, and that will take place in early 2019 on Saturday January 12th.

After a midweek trip to the Hawthorns to take on Championship giants West Brom in the Carabao Cup first round, the Town then travel to Peterborough on Saturday August 18th before finishing the opening month with successive home matches against Southend and Shrewsbury.

A busy Christmas period will see the Hatters host Burton Albion on Saturday December 22nd ahead of successive away trips to Scunthorpe United on Boxing Day and Walsall on Saturday the 29th, before returning to the Kenny for a New Year’s Day clash with Cameron McGeehan’s Barnsley.

The final day of the season, when all League One matches will kick-off at 5.30pm, sees the Hatters play host to Oxford United.

Keep an eye on later today for manager Nathan Jones’ reaction…



Sat Aug 4: Portsmouth A

Sat Aug 11: Sunderland H

Tue Aug 14: West Bromwich Albion A (Carabao Cup 1)

Sat Aug 18: Peterborough United A

Tue Aug 21: Southend United H

Sat Aug 25: Shrewsbury Town H

W/C Aug 27: Carabao Cup 2



Sat Sep 1: Wycombe Wanderers A

Sat Sep 8: Doncaster Rovers A 

Sat Sep 15: Bristol Rovers H

Sat Sep 22: Blackpool A

W/C Sep 24: Carabao Cup 3

Sat Sep 29: Charlton Athletic H



Tue Oct 2: Oxford United A

Sat Oct 6: Scunthorpe United H

Sat Oct 13: Barnsley A 

Sat Oct 20: Walsall H

Tue Oct 23: Accrington Stanley H

Sat Oct 27: AFC Wimbledon A

W/C Oct 29: Carabao Cup 4



Sat Nov 3: Rochdale A

Sat Nov 10: Emirates FA Cup 1

Sat Nov 17: Plymouth Argyle H

Sat Nov 24: Gillingham A

Tue Nov 27: Bradford City H



Sat Dec 1: Emirates FA Cup 2

Sat Dec 8: Fleetwood Town H

Sat Dec 15: Coventry City A

W/C Dec 17 Carabao Cup 5

Sat Dec 22: Burton Albion H

Wed Dec 26: Scunthorpe United A

Sat Dec 29: Walsall A



Tue Jan 1: Barnsley H

Sat Jan 5: Portsmouth H (Emirates FA Cup 3)

W/C Jan 7: Carabao Cup Semi-Final (1)

Sat Jan 12: Sunderland A

Sat Jan 19: Peterborough United H

W/C Jan 21: Carabao Cup Semi-Final (2)

Sat Jan 26: Southend United A (Emirates FA Cup 4)



Sat Feb 2: Shrewsbury Town A

Sat Feb 9: Wycombe Wanderers H

Sat Feb 16: Fleetwood Town A (Emirates FA Cup 5)

Sat Feb 23: Coventry City H

Sun Feb 24: Carabao Cup Final



Sat Mar 2: Rochdale H

Sat Mar 9: Plymouth Argyle A

Tue Mar 12: Bradford City A

Sat Mar 16: Gillingham H (Emirates FA Cup 6)

Sat Mar 23: Doncaster Rovers H

Sat Mar 30: Bristol Rovers A



Sat Apr 6: Blackpool H (Emirates FA Cup Semi-Final)

Sat Apr 13: Charlton Athletic A

Fri Apr 19: Accrington Stanley A

Mon Apr 22: AFC Wimbledon H

Sat Apr 27: Burton Albion A



Sat May 4: Oxford United H

Sat May 18: Emirates FA Cup Final


*Please note that this is a draft schedule only and all fixtures are subject to change


Advertisement block