Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Youth team secure back-to-back titles

12 February 2024

Club News

Youth team secure back-to-back titles

12 February 2024

Sponsored by

For the second season in a row the Town Under-18s were crowned champions of the Youth Alliance South East Division after coming from behind to beat Sutton United on Saturday.

Knowing all three points would hand them back-to-back titles after the success last term, Alex Lawless side made the worst possible start, trailing after seven minutes.

However, the young Hatters responded brilliantly and levelled five minutes later when Dominic Martins latched onto Jack Lortenzen-Jones’ corner to convert at the back post.

All of a sudden the confidence was flowing and the Town soon led when Charlie Emery got on the end of another corner from Lorentzen-Jones.

After the break Sutton – who needed all three points to stand a chance of taking the title themselves – pushed for an equaliser during a turgid ten-minute spell.

But the Hatters soon gave themselves a two-goal cushion when Isaiah Harvey’s fine run down the right wing teed up Marcus Warren to make it 3-1 with a composed finish.

The Town continued to press in search of a fourth and they got their reward when Dylan Stitt finished well after seizing on a flick-on after a throw from the left.

Sutton scored a consolation from distance in the fourth minute of added time but it mattered not as the Hatters could celebrate clinching the title.

Lawless’ side will now enter the merit league which sees the clubs finishing in the top-half of the south east and south west compete for the overall southern section championship.

A happy Lawless said: “The boys thoroughly deserved their victory to earn this reward, especially with the way they reacted to going a goal down in an important match so early.

“They knew they had the destiny in their own hands and their mentality was excellent.

“I’m pleased for everyone involved and now we look ahead to the merit league which begins in a few weeks’ time.”

Town: Blackledge, Harvey, Benagr, Martins, Emery, Kayibanda, Lortenzen-Jones, Warren, Anderson, Trustram, Xavier-Jones. Subs: Stitt, Ioannides, Houghton, Takawira, Odegah.

Advertisement block

Hatters Player Next Match Tickets Account