Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Five substitutions permitted in EFL for next season

10 June 2022

Club News

Five substitutions permitted in EFL for next season

10 June 2022

Sponsored by

Hatters manager Nathan Jones' wish for a return to five substitutes being allowed in league matches is finally granted at the EFL's AGM...

  • Hatters will be allowed to field five game changers in league next season
  • Rule change sees return to post-Lockdown Restart and 2020-21 status
  • Clubs also allowed to change kit at home to avoid colour blindness clashes


Clubs will be allowed to name up to seven substitutes and make five substitutions in Sky Bet Championship, League One and League Two matches from the 2022-23 season.

For League matches during the 2021/22 season, Clubs were able to field three substitutes from seven nominated, which has now increased following today's Annual General Meeting (AGM) when EFL Clubs approved a number of regulation changes that will come into effect immediately.

Each Club is only permitted a maximum of three opportunities to make substitutions during the fixture, plus an opportunity at half-time, and a Club may make more than the one substitution at each of these opportunities.

Among other rule changes passed today, a home Club will now be able to wear its ‘away’ or third kit where a clash may occur that would make it difficult for people who are colour blind to differentiate between the kits worn by both teams.

The amendment also allows Clubs to further ‘mix and match’ elements of their registered kits in order to avoid kit clashes. The EFL will also play a more active role in helping Clubs identify where a potential ‘colour blind kit clash’ may occur to give them adequate notice so that all necessary arrangements can be made in advance.

Millwall Chief Executive Steve Kavanagh has been appointed to the EFL Board following the election of a new Championship representative at the Summer Conference.

Kavanagh, who previously served as the Championship’s alternate director, succeeds Nicholas Randall QC following Nottingham Forest’s promotion to the Premier League and he joins fellow Championship representatives Peter Ridsdale (Preston North End) and Neil Bausor (Middlesbrough). 

Following the expiry of their current terms, League One and League Two representatives Jez Moxey (Burton Albion), Steve Curwood (Fleetwood Town) and John Nixon (Carlisle United) have been duly re-appointed and will continue in their positions subject to promotion and relegation.   

The Board has also agreed to use the power afforded in its Articles of Association to extend Senior Independent Non-Executive Director Debbie Jevans CBE’s final term by 12 months and fellow Independent Director, Simon Bazalgette, has also been re-elected. 

In addition, the EFL has added an additional Disqualifying Condition in its Owners and Directors’ Test for those that have been convicted of a Hate Crime, which is defined as an offence that is considered to be aggravated in accordance with the Crime and Disorder Act 1998 and the Sentencing Act 2020.

Advertisement block

Hatters Player Next Match Tickets Account