Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


27 March 2017

Club News


27 March 2017

Sponsored by

Hatters striker Danny in top three for Player of the Year

The shortlists for the 2017 EFL Awards have been revealed as clubs, players and fans come together to recognise the stars of 2016/17 across all three divisions and 14 different categories – and Hatters striker Danny Hylton is among them!

The 28-year-old summer signing from Oxford United is on a shortlist of three for the League Two Player of the Year along with Doncaster duo James Coppinger and John Marquis.

Hylton has netted 24 goals in the most prolific campaign of his career so far, and manager Nathan Jones told “We are amazingly proud of Danny. This is a recognition of a season of high-class work in the way he plays, but also the way he trains every day and the type of character he is as well.

“He’s got real competition from two fantastic players from Doncaster, and others who would have been nominated. I know from the votes that I made – and of course, I wasn’t allowed to choose Danny – that there are some wonderful players in there. Just to get in the top three is a real achievement.

“I know I am biased, but I think he’d be a worthy winner because of the way he goes about his work.”

Hylton isn’t the only Hatters player to be in line for an EFL award, of course, with right-back Stephen O’Donnell’s strike against Yeovil last August already in the running for Goal of the Season. Fans have until tomorrow to vote for the Scot's goal by clicking here

The annual awards take place in London on Sunday 9 April, and Shaun Harvey, EFL Chief Executive, said: "It’s been an exciting and action-packed 12 months for the EFL both on and off the pitch. There have been some incredible individual and team performances across the three divisions, entertaining the millions of fans who follow the EFL week in, week out. 
“Off the pitch our clubs continue to have a positive and lasting impact in their local communities, using the power of football to deliver life-changing programmes and activities. 
“The EFL Awards are a fantastic way to recognise the achievements of clubs, players, back room staff and fans and I would like to personally congratulate everyone who has been nominated and wish them all the best on the night itself.”

The shortlists for all the awards are listed below. For more details, visit: 


Sky Bet Championship Player of the Season:
Chris Wood – Leeds United
Dwight Gayle – Newcastle United
Anthony Knockaert – Brighton & Hove Albion 

Sky Bet League One Player of the Season 
Billy Sharp – Sheffield United
Josh Morris – Scunthorpe United 
John Fleck – Sheffield United 

Sky Bet League Two Player of the Season 
John Marquis – Doncaster Rovers
James Coppinger – Doncaster Rovers
Danny Hylton – Luton Town 

EFL Young Player of the Season 
John Swift – Reading
Ryan Ledson – Oxford United 
Ollie Watkins – Exeter City

Football Manager Team of the Season 
To be revealed on the night. 

Sir Tom Finney and Contribution to League Football Awards
To be announced on the night 

PFA Player in the Community 
Liam Rosenior – Brighton & Hove Albion 
Andy Butler – Doncaster Rovers
Christian Burgess – Portsmouth 

EFL Supporter of the Year 
Pav Samra – Derby County
Zoe Edge – Chesterfield 
Paul Mayfield – Doncaster Rovers 

Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year – Championship 
Blackburn Rovers 
Brighton & Hove Albion 

Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year – League One
MK Dons 

Nickelodeon Family Club of the Year – League Two 
Carlisle United 

Checkatrade Community Club of the Year 
North West – Wigan Athletic 
North East & Yorkshire – Rotherham United 
Midlands – Burton Albion 
London – Fulham 
South East – Brighton & Hove Albion 
South West & Wales – Portsmouth 

LFE Apprentice of the Year – Championship 
Ben Brereton – Nottingham Forest 
Lloyd Kelly – Bristol City
George Hirst – Sheffield Wednesday 

LFE Apprentice of the Year – League One
Lewis Butroid – Scunthorpe United 
Matthew Gillam – Rochdale 
Callum Cockerill-Mollett – Walsall 

LFE Apprentice of the Year – League Two 
Myles Judd – Leyton Orient 
Alex Fletcher – Plymouth Argyle 
Leon Davies – Cambridge United 

Mitre Goal of the Year 

The top 5 goals will be revealed on the night of the Awards with the audience voting for the overall winner. 
TOP 10
  • ADAM HAMMILL (Barnsley) 29th May v Millwall   
  • DARREN BENT (Derby County) 5th Nov v Wolves   
  • WES HOOLAHAN (Norwich City) 15th Oct v Rotherham United   
  • LEE TOMLIN (Bristol City) 30th Apr v Huddersfield Town   
  • FABIO DA SILVA (Cardiff City) 23rd Feb v Middlesbrough   
  • STEVE SIDWELL (Brighton) 5th Nov vs Bristol City   
  • RICKY HOLMES (Northampton) 13th Feb v Leyton Orient   
  • NATHAN THOMAS (Hartlepool) 1st Oct v Grimsby Town   
  • MICHAEL DOYLE (Portsmouth) 8th Mar v Accrington Stanley   
  • STEPHEN O’DONNELL (Luton) 13th Aug vs Yeovil Town  

Advertisement block

Hatters Player Next Match Tickets Account