Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


20 April 2017

Club News


20 April 2017

Sponsored by

Hatters striker Hylton is in League Two best XI

The PFA Divisional Teams of the Year have been announced ahead of the 44th PFA Awards to be held in the Grosvenor House in London next Sunday – and Hatters striker Danny Hylton is in the League Two team of 2016-17!

PFA Members from 100 clubs (Premier League, Football League and WSL) have been voting and the PFA Divisional Teams of the Year are as follows.

Danny, who has hit 26 goals so far this season and was in the shortlist of three for the EFL League Two player of the year award earlier this month, is selected up front alongside the overall winner of that accolade, John Marquis of Doncaster Rovers.

Well done to Hylts from all at Kenilworth Road on another wonderful achievement in a terrific first season with the Hatters.

The PFA League Two Team of the Year, sponsored by Panini, is as follows:
  • Goalkeeper - Luke McCormick (Plymouth Argyle)
  • Defender - Kelvin Mellor (Blackpool)
  • Defender - Sonny Bradley (Plymouth Argyle)
  • Defender - Christian Burgess (Portsmouth)
  • Defender - Enda Stevens (Portsmouth)
  • Midfielder - Nicky Adams (Carlisle United)
  • Midfielder - Luke Berry (Cambridge United)
  • Midfielder - James Coppinger (Doncaster Rovers)
  • Midfielder - Graham Carey (Plymouth Argyle)
  • Forward - Danny Hylton (Luton Town)
  • Forward - John Marquis (Doncaster Rovers)

The PFA Awards celebrate the best of English football in an evening attended by hundreds of current professional stars of the game, to recognise the outstanding performers in every division.

As the season draws towards its climax, the PFA Awards is a celebration of the achievement of all PFA members from the last 12 months.

In addition to the PFA Players’ Player of the Year and PFA Young Player of the Year categories, the divisional Team of the Year are announced for all five divisions and we honour footballing achievement through the PFA’s Merit Award.

Previous winners of the prestigious PFA Players’ Player of the Year award have included Luis Suarez, Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo and Ryan Giggs. The current holders are Riyad Mahrez and Izzy Christiansen. 

PFA Chief Executive, Gordon Taylor OBE, said: “The PFA Awards is always a special occasion and one of the biggest nights in football’s social calendar. For the winners who are honoured at the awards, there can be no greater personal accolade than that of being recognised by your peers; an honour to be cherished.”

Advertisement block

Hatters Player Next Match Tickets Account