Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


21 March 2016

Sponsored by

He might not play for us any more but get voting for Gutts' goal!

Luke Guttridge’s fantastic goal at Cambridge back in September has been shortlisted in The Football League’s Goal of the Year award.

Guttridge, who has since joined Dagenham & Redbridge, faces competition from nine other superb strikes in a bid to win the coveted League prize.

All 92 League clubs were asked to put forward their best goal of 2015 with Guttridge’s our chosen strike following a fans’ online poll.

The players and clubs included in the vote are: 

Doncaster Rovers – Andy Williams 
Fleetwood Town – David Ball 
Hartlepool United – Michael Duckworth 
Leyton Orient – Blair Turgott 
Luton Town – Luke Guttridge 
Oxford United – Kemar Roofe 
Preston North End – Jermaine Beckford 
Reading – Danny Williams 
Sheffield Wednesday – Marco Matias 
Walsall – Romaine Sawyers 

Voting closes at midday on Friday 1st April when the 10 goals will be whittled down to five remaining contenders. The overall winner will then be decided on the night at the 2016 Football League Awards.
This year marks the 11th anniversary of the event, which takes place at Manchester Central on Sunday 17th April 2016. 

Advertisement block