Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


27 July 2016

Sponsored by

Hatters to face West Brom youngsters, Gillingham and Millwall

The draw for the Group Stage of the revamped EFL Trophy has taken place this morning.

The Hatters have been drawn in a group of four in the southern section of the competition with West Bromwich Albion’s Academy team and Sky Bet League One clubs Gillingham and Millwall.

The 16 EPPP Category 1 Academy teams taking part in the competition as well as West Brom were confirmed as Leicester City, Southampton, West Ham United, Stoke City, Chelsea, Everton, Swansea City, Sunderland, Norwich City, Middlesbrough, Brighton & Hove Albion, Derby County, Wolverhampton Wanderers, Blackburn Rovers and Reading.

The Town will play each club once either home and away, with three points awarded for a win and one for a draw. 

In the event of a drawn game after 90 minutes, a penalty shootout will be held with the winning team earning an additional point. The top two teams will progress to the Knockout Stage. 

The Group Stage fixtures will take place during the following weeks commencing 29th August, 3rd October and 7th November 2016. 

Supporters will be updates as soon as fixture details are confirmed.

Advertisement block