Luton Town Retained / Released List 2022

With manager Nathan Jones having held meetings with his squad since the 2021-22 season came to a close on Monday night, we can now confirm Luton Town’s retained and released list.


Of the senior squad whose contracts are due to expire this summer, the Club has exercised an option year on Luke Berry, Harry Isted, Cameron Jerome and Peter Kioso.

Negotiations are ongoing with Danny Hylton, Kal Naismith and Robert Snodgrass with a view to extending each of their stays at Kenilworth Road.

Goalkeeper Matt Ingram has returned to Hull City following his emergency loan spell for the final two league games of the regular season, and the play-offs. We thank both Matt and Hull for helping the Club following the season-ending injury to James Shea, whose new contract was announced last month.

Of the players who have been out on loan, Dion Pereira and Glen Rea have returned from Bradford City and Wigan Athletic respectively, while Elliot Lee has returned from Charlton Athletic and will officially leave the Hatters at the end of his contract on June 30th.

Elliot had already had a loan spell under John Still during the 2014-15 season when Nathan brought him back to the Club in the summer of 2017. He scored 12 goals as League Two promotion was secured in his first full campaign, then added another dozen in the League One title-winning season – including one against Oxford on the final day when the championship was secured.

He also played a significant role in keeping the Town’s Great Escape of 2019-20, coming back into the team following Nathan’s return for Project Restart and scoring a crucial goal away at Huddersfield to aid the successful bid for Championship survival.

The 27-year-old departs with a record of 30 goals in 124 appearances spread over seven years, and the thanks of all at Kenilworth Road for some special moments during the major role he has played in the Club’s rise up the EFL.

From the Under-21 Development squad, options to extend the contracts of Callum Nicolson and Josh Williams have been exercised, while Jameson Horlick, Avan Jones, Conor Lawless, Tra Lucas and Casey Pettit have each been offered new professional terms. Aidan Francis-Clarke and Ed McJannet remain under contract.

Leaving the Club at the end of their deals are TQ Addy, Sam Beckwith, Corey Panter and Jake Peck. We thank each of those lads for their contribution over several years, especially the latter trio who have been with the Club since joining the academy more than a decade ago.

Second-year scholars offered professional contracts are striker Josh Allen and goalkeeper Jacob Cowler, while Tyrelle Newton and Josh Swan have been offered third-year scholarships.

First-year scholars moving into their second year are: Jack Bateson, Sam Bentley, Jake Burger, Ollie Hemlin, Archie Heron, Oliver Lynch, Rio Martucci Beddingfield, Millar Matthews-Lewis, Darcy Moffat, Zack Nelson, Josh Odell Bature, Jacob Pinnington and Ben Tompkins.

Leaving the Academy at the end of their scholarships are second years Eddie Corbit and Adam Wedd, along with Matt Moloney and Ben Stevens, who completed their third year campaigns with valuable loan spells at Braintree Town and Hitchin Town respectively.

We thank all of the players who are leaving us for their service to the Club, however long or short a time they have been a Hatter.

We wish them every success for their future careers, and they will always be welcome visitors to Kenilworth Road.

Related Content

  1. 01
  2. 02
  3. 03