Key Dates | Championship 2024/25

Luton Town return to the Sky Bet Championship in 2024/25 for our fifth second-tier season in the last six.


After winning the League One title in 2018/19, we survived relegation in our first season on the final day against Blackburn Rovers at an empty Kenilworth Road during lockdown.

We progressed to a 12th place finish in the following campaign before back-to-back play-off appearances, the latter ending in promotion to the Premier League in 2022/23.

When are the fixtures announced?

We will find out our schedule for the 24/25 season on Wednesday 26th June at 9am BST.

The 46 rounds of Championship matches will take place across 33 weekends, nine midweeks and four Bank Holidays.

When does the season begin?

The start of the 24/25 Championship season will begin on the weekend of Saturday 10th August and the regular season will conclude on 3rd May 2025.

Who else is in the Championship in 24/25?

Fellow relegated sides Sheffield United and Burnley have re-entered the division after one season in the top-flight, while Portsmouth, Derby County and Oxford United all returned to the Championship after gaining promotion from League One in 2023/24.

Southampton went straight back up to the Premier League alongside champions Leicester City after defeating third-place Leeds United in the play-off final at Wembley Stadium; Ipswich Town completed back-to-back promotions by finishing in the second automatic promotion place.

We will play Plymouth Argyle for the first time in the Championship since 2007 following their survival from relegation at the expense of Birmingham City, Huddersfield Town and Rotherham United.

Local rivals Watford finished 15th in 23/24 as we are set to play the Hornets for the first time since we won 2-0 at Kenilworth Road in April 2023.

The full list of 24/25 Championship teams in alphabetical order:

Blackburn Rovers

Bristol City


Cardiff City

Coventry City

Derby County

Hull City

Leeds United

Luton Town



Norwich City

Oxford United

Plymouth Argyle


Preston North End

Queens Park Rangers

Sheffield United

Sheffield Wednesday

Stoke City


Swansea City


West Bromwich Albion

Related Content

  1. 01
  2. 02
  3. 03