Five debutants start at Brighton

Hatters boss Rob Edwards has selected five players to make their debuts as life in the Premier League kicks off at Brighton.


Goalkeeper Thomas Kaminski starts in goal while there are three debutants ahead of him in defence, with Issa Kabore and Ryan Giles as wing-backs and Mads Andersen joining captain Tom Lockyer and Amari’i Bell in defence.

Tahith Chong starts in midfield alongside Marvelous Nakamba and Pelly Ruddock Mpanzu – who becomes the first player since the inception of the Premier League to play for the same club in the top five divisions in England.

The Town attack is a familiar one: Carlton Morris and Elijah Adebayo, who scored 30 goals between them last season, lead the line.

New signings Chiedozie Ogbene and Jacob Brown are among the nine substitutes.

Town: Kaminski; Kaboré, Giles, Andersen, Lockyer, Bell; Nakamba, Chong, Mpanzu; Morris, Adebayo.

Subs: Shea, Ogbene, Berry, Woodrow, Brown, McAtee, Campbell, Francis-Clarke, Doughty.

Brighton: Steele, Dunk, Milner, March, Dahmoud, Pedro, Groß, Welbeck, Mitoma, Hecke, Estupiñán.

Subs: Verbruggen, Julio, Enciso, Gilmour, Alzate, Adringra, Ferguson, Veltman, Bounanotte.

Referee: David Coote.

Related Content

  1. 01
  2. 02
  3. 03